The St. John Passion by Johann Sebastian Bach

Experience the St. John Passion with L’Harmonie des saisons and rediscover Johann Sebastian Bach’s masterpiece.

Under the musical direction of conductor Eric Milnes, L’Harmonie des saisons offers an interpretation faithful to the spirit of Bach’s writing.

The St. John Passion with L’Harmonie des saisons :

  • emotion communicated with intensity and finesse ;
  • the tradition in all its splendor;
  • an ensemble favoring the clarity of the musical discourse and the transmission of the drama of the Passion;
  • nine singers interpreting the entire work, alternating as soloists and members of the vocal ensemble;
  • an instrumental ensemble composed of 17 musicians playing on period instruments;
  • four performances allowing you to immerse yourself in the beauty with L’Harmonie des saisons during this time of preparation for Easter.

The performance of The Harmony of the Seasons is based on the research of musicologists Joshua Rifkin and Andrew Parrott, who reveal which instruments were used by Bach and which alternative movements were played in each of the work’s initial performances. The director duo of The Harmony of the Seasons has chosen to respect these original parameters, selecting movements from one of J.S. Bach’s historic performances.

L’Harmonie des saisons
Vocal and instrumental ensemble on historical instruments

Eric Milnes, conductor

Rodrigo Del Pozo, Evangelist – tenor
Sumner Thompson, Pilate – baritone
William Kraushaar, Jesus – bass

Denise Torre-Ormeno and Bornwyn Thies-Thompson, sopranos
Michael Taylor and Nicholas Burns, altos
Philippe Gagné and Kerry Bursey, tenors
Sumner Thompson and William Kraushaar, basses

Julia Wedman, concertmaster
Guillaume Villeneuve, Jessy Dubé, violins
Scott Metcalfe, Marie Nadeau-Tremblay, Karin Cuellar, violins
Hélène Plouffe, Valérie Arsenault, violas
Margaret Little, viola and viola da gamba
Mélisande Corriveau, viola da gamba and cello
Pierre Cartier, double bass
Anne Thivierge and Grégoire Jeay, flutes
Matthew Jennejohn and Karim Nasr, oboes
François Viault, bassoon
Kerry Bursey, lute
Jonathan Oldengarm, harpsichord

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google